From The Jam Factory – Sarah Hyndman.

Get Fit on the Train

Posted in Inventions by Type Tasting on January 2, 2012

Gym Carriage by Sarah Hyndman

When I’m on a train journey I’ve often wished that, rather than sitting waiting for the journey to be over, I could put my time to better use. This is especially true when it’s getting late or the train is delayed and I’ve wanted to fit a trip to the gym in as well. My dream solution would be to have a gym carriage on the train so I could get fit on my way to work.

In addition, since it would be created for the purpose, the equipment could be designed to incorporate human dynamo technology. This would enable the kinetic energy you produce as you work out to either charge up your phone, or be stored and converted into points and donated to charity.

1. The trains would not need extra platform space as the gym carriage would be membership only, entered through a door in the adjacent carriage.

2. The equipment would be designed to be all-in-one to maximise space.

3. Gym carriages could be attached to any train.

4. We could make use of the kinetic energy we produce.

In summary, we could get fit on the train, raise awareness of renewable power, and raise money for charity.

So, Mr. Branson, what do you think?

Gym Carriage by Sarah Hyndman

Human Dynamo by Sarah Hyndman

www.sarahhyndman.com

Click twice on the images for the largest versions.

////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

Pedal Power by Sarah Hyndman

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. angelflame1992 said, on June 29, 2013 at 3:30 pm

    I just thought of this too! and googled to see if it already exists! 🙂 I think its a great idea, and I love the compact three-in-one machine 😀

  2. thejamfactory said, on June 29, 2013 at 4:44 pm

    Maybe if enough of us think of it somebody might create it, what I’d really like is a swimming pool on a train but I can see that might get messy.

  3. Clayton Boladeras said, on October 21, 2014 at 10:33 am

    Ha ! I just had the same idea, got really excited about it so googled it thinking it must be in place somewhere. I think you have presented it really well, I am sure Richard must have called you by now 😀


Leave a Reply

