From The Jam Factory – Sarah Hyndman.

Off Screen – Keys and ‘Oh I do’ gone wrong

Posted in Hand printed by Type Tasting on March 7, 2010

I booked in 6 hours on Saturday afternoon, and have now got the hang of preparing immaculate artwork well in advance (although I’m still only finding the flaws once I start printing – I’m still not quite getting the amount of spread/bleed and where to put it right). It’s one of those things you just have to do and learn as you go along.

The session started with the peanuts print (see previous entry) as it was still on the screens. Second into the key print, I want to see how the Avec typeface prints with it’s pristine details. I need to revisit this artwork and modify the spread on the keys to eliminate the white slivers.

I managed to wash down and burn two final screens for the last print of the night of the Oh I do like… print. I’d moved to a different bed with crap vacuum which caused big problems. The paper moved so the register was haphazard, increasing the snap made the ink bleed outside the letters, and I think I chose too small a blade so it was hard to keep the pressure right at the end of the print. I’ve left this design on the screen and will try it again next week.

A2 screen print in green and orange

A2 screen print in grey and blue

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Clare W said, on March 7, 2010 at 1:33 pm

    I know I know nothing about these things, but, to me these look beautiful.


Leave a Reply

