From The Jam Factory – Sarah Hyndman.

Off Screen – session 1

Posted in Hand printed by Type Tasting on March 2, 2010

I joined Print Club on Monday and went down there eagerly like the first day at a new school – my name written on all my things, a box to keep them all in, and two brand new screens tied up in cardboard and string. The first couple of sessions didn’t produce as satisfying results as I’d hoped, I needed to make a few prints to explore what was needed in terms of artwork, overlapping and how colours actually look when printed. The beds also all have quirks, and I’ve now found my favourite one.

A2 screen print in black and bronze

This was the first print (black and bronze on A2 paper). I think the black is to harsh, and the bronze not punchy enough. I should have printed the bronze second so the overprint detail showed up more on ‘Quick’. The type is also too perfect, it needs something more.

Leave a Reply

